Self Challenge Week: Recharge Your Mindset

This week is going to be a busy week for me. It’s going to be my birthday on Wednesday, I’m going to be heading home for a few days, my brother’s graduation on Friday, dinners, and so on. What’s a girl to do with all this craziness? This week’s challenge is to focus on your mindset. We are constantly rushing through life and not taking the time to think of our actions and what impacts they may have. Whether you need to focus on mindful eating or reduce the stress in your life, it all begins with your mindset.

The first step to any commitment, whether it be to lose weight, eat healthy or start an exercise program, begins with your mindset. You must have that determination and drive that motivates you to keep going. Sure there are going to be times where you feel down in the dumps or just want to give up, but you have to think in the long run. If you miss a workout, don’t beat yourself up. Just push harder at your next workout session or try your best to stay active that day by cleaning or taking a light walk. If you mess up at one meal, you should immediately look at the next meal as a fresh start. You don’t have to sabotage the whole day. Just keep moving forward!

I use to go to a buffet and think “I paid a lot of money to eat here so I am going to get my moneys worth and enjoy myself.” But then what happened later? I felt bloated and disgusting after and all for less than an hour of food enjoyment, I get to have an evening of stomach cramps. Usually the next day I would still be in pain and not be able to workout, which would make me feel worse. Now at buffets I just eat what I want to eat and not look at it as “wasting money” but rather enjoying some of the foods that I like at a particular restaurant. All has to do with changing the way your mind thinks.

For this week just focus on making healthy eating choices, getting your workouts in and having an overall positive mindset. Even through all the chaos that the day presents, take the time to enjoy the simple things in life such as loved ones, your favorite piece of chocolate or that television show you never get to watch.

There is a 21 day No-Complaints and Lean Down Challenge going on at DAMY Health. You should check it out as it has to do with conquering negativity. Remember, don’t give up just because you’ve messed up. Keep moving forward :]

 

 

Leave a Reply

