Life Changes…Dealing with Food Allergies

As I mentioned yesterday I found out at the doctor’s I was allergic to peanuts, wheat, corn, and walnuts. My other allergies don’t bother me too much, I just have to watch the foods which are shrimp and scallops. I was a bit overwhelmed at this news but I had a feeling I was allergic to wheat so I had done plenty of research before all this happened.

My main symptoms are as followed for each as I looked up the specifics for each online;

Corn Allergy: tiredness / exhaustion, feel tired after eating, headaches / migraines, abdominal problems (similar to IBS), stomach aches, constipation, gas / bloating, diarrhea, and sudden blood sugar fluctuations.

Peanuts Allergy: digestive problems such as diarrhea and stomach cramps.

Wheat Allergy: bloated stomach, diarrhea, feeling dizzy or faint, tiredness and lethargy.

My main issues were migraines, abdominal problems, constipation, bloating and tiredness right after eating. I never thought much of it until a few months ago when I read an article about gluten intolerance. I started doing more research on it since I had similar symptoms mentioned. I didn’t want to self diagnose since I had to have gluten present in my blood to see if I was truly intolerant. Turns out I was close and it was wheat. It’s hard to find wheat-free products because many of them use corn instead. And I have never heard of a corn allergy, have you? No more popcorn…sigh!

Now what is the difference between a food allergy and a food intolerance? A food allergy is a fast reaction where your body interprets the food as an enemy to your body. This would explain why I would instantly get tired after eating or have a huge migraine. A food intolerance is when the reaction takes hours, days or even weeks to affect the body. Hence why I can eat dairy but within a few hours I have a lot of gas, bloating and sometimes diarrhea.

It is going to be very hard to do this as reading the food labels took two hours to go over at the supermarket. But it was my first time and I was able to do it! I will be going over the foods within a couple of days so you can see what I am now going to be eating. I need everyone’s support on this. I am excited to see myself getting better day by day.

Do not fear there will be plenty of sweets still. After all this is Nutritiously Sweet!

3 thoughts on “Life Changes…Dealing with Food Allergies

  1. Thanks for some other informative web site.

    The place else may I get that type of info written in such a perfect manner?

    I have a venture that I’m just now operating on, and I have been at the
    look out for such info.

Leave a Reply

