It’s Always Halloween In Salem

Why hello there! I know it has been a while, but I have just been running around like a mad woman! My uncle and aunt came up all the way from Virginia on Friday night. Been waking up super early and sleeping super late and yes I am DEAD! But somehow I manage to write this post lol. Any who breakfast this morning was on the go since work was at 7:00am today. Had another set of peach protein pancakes ready in the fridge. They help hold me over til lunch time and this peach batch is delicious!

Skipping onto lunch, as work is nothing out of the ordinary, I had  one of my pizza‘s that I had pre-made the other day.

To go along with lunch, I had a yogurt and McIntosh apple.

For snack I had grabbed half of the white chocolate macadamia nut Cliff bar. This time I got the plastic wrap handy and had the bar already portioned. Makes like much easier, doesn’t it?

Once work was up, I was headed home to relax for a bit and then my uncle and aunt were coming over to go to downtown Salem. We walked around for a bit and they bought many little antique type things. I just had to take a picture of this miniature “Halloweentownish” from one of the stores that we went in called “The Black Paw.”

Look who we found while walking around, Jack! I love the Nightmare Before Christmas as its one of my all time favorite movies. I got a little nervous for some odd reason hence the slouching…grrr!

After walking around the shops for almost three hours it was time for dinner. We went to Tavern in the Square in downtown Salem.

The place was pretty nice and we even had our own television at our booth!

Guess what Allan and I decided to try? Shipyard’s Pumpkin Ale! Now, I don’t drink ever, but since it was pumpkin and I love pumpkin, I thought I’d give it a try. It had a cinnamon sugar rim, which was delicious and the beer was not too bad. Allan even liked it and he is very picky with drinks. Would I get it again? Probably not but it was not too shabby for a non-beer lover.

Now you know that I had to have something a little off plan here. I’ve always passed by the Tavern and seen giants plates of waffle fries. That was on my agenda for dinner. I actually got “turkey tips” with black beans and waffle fries. The carrots I chopped up from the appetizer we had. Smart move, if I may say so myself.

The portion was huge and I had enough left over for another meal and then some. The waffle fries were okay and were the first to go. I guess I just needed that crunch. So at least I have the good stuff left for meals this week. After dinner we walked around some more and got some ice cream on a super cold night. Then we finally headed home and my aunt and uncle stayed for a bit and then went to their hotel. It’s been an awesome day for me but it is off to bed because I am drained!

 

One thought on “It’s Always Halloween In Salem

Leave a Reply

