The Land of Catamounts

I was so excited to go to Vermont on Sunday. Allan and I went up there once to pick up some stuff from storage from when I went to college there but we didn’t do anything else besides that. Technically then, I haven’t been there since May 2010!

We woke up early to head out and enjoy the whole day there. My mom likes the clothing up there better, which means shopping time! I brought a Clif Blueberry Crisp bar and a banana for an on the go breakfast. This, the white chocolate macadamia nut and the black cherry almond are so far my only favorite Clif bars.

While on the road, I brought a long another banana and my last Babybel cheddar cheese. I took my mom to the Vermont visitor’s center just because I think it’s so cute. They have free coffee and tea and it just has such an awesome view.

It took us about four hours to get there and Allan and I took my mom to have brunch at Henry’s Diner. They have the BEST home fries ever. I got a biscuit a long with my order, which both Allan and my mom shared.

 After brunch, we stopped by Lake Champlain Chocolates. I got maple crunch and honey caramel. The maple crunch was delicious! My mom and I also tried a spiced caramel which had rum infused, but it wasn’t all the great.

What else did I get from Lake Champlain?

Pure Maple Syrup! Vermont and Canada are always competing for who has the best maple syrup.

We shopped around Church Street and then headed to the University Mall. We had coupons for JC Penny for $10.00 off a $10.00 or more purchase. I ended up getting a free sweater. See? The sweater was on sale for $10.00 and I paid $0.00… awesome!

After the mall, we headed for dinner. It was freezing outside! I forgot how cold Vermont was. We were going to go to Vermont Pub and Brewery to have the best burger ever. But because they had a private party going on, the kitchen was closed.

We ended up going to Sweetwaters instead. Every UVMer has went there except for me, so I guess it was appropriate timing.

My mom and I both got burgers. I got a basic burger and I am sure you notice there is bread? They had a gluten-free bun! I was excited to actually eat a burger with bread. It was absolutely yummy.

After dinner we went to Ben and Jerry’s. Their ice cream does have corn syrup but I figured I could sleep off the migraine. They have a new thing called a mash-up. You just mix two ice cream flavors and two toppings. Allan and I mixed vanilla fro-yo with mini m&m’s and chocolate sprinkles.

The view of Church Street at night. Pretty!

 We drove back pretty late and we went straight to sleep. This morning for breakfast, I made my mom her favorite cheddar cheese and broccoli omelette. I had a banana with a cranberry almond oatmeal breakfast square. The recipe is coming soon. This is my favorite square so far!

My mom left at around 1:00pm after we shopped around downtown Salem for a bit. I’m heading home this Thursday! I can’t believe how fast time is going. This means I better go study for my final now! Does anyone else have finals this week?

 

Leave a Reply

