Pepperoni Roll (Savory Crepe Recipe)

My dad brought home pizza last night. For lunch I had already eaten a pesto pizza, so I really wasn’t in the mood to eat another. Not that I could have it anyway!

I’ve been craving crepes for a few days. Ever since my dad had crepes at Ihop, he has been asking me to make him crepesall the time!

I wanted to get in on some of the crepe goodness but not a sweet crepe but rather one that was savory. When my dad would order pizza, I would always get a pepperoni roll. It was like a pepperoni pizza, but just rolled up in a delicious bread.

I wanted that exact same thing. I figured, why not use a crepe for the bread? Behold the delicious pepperoni roll, a savory crepe recipe! It has less sodium and fat for pretty much the same amount of calories as your typical pepperoni pizza slice. You can also say it’s a healthy alternative to a pepperoni pizza Hot Pocket. Mmm, I use to love those.

Ingredients

Base:

1/2 Cup Flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Flour)

1/2 Cup Fat Free Milk (or Milk Alternative)

1 Medium Egg

1 Tbsp of Butter (Melted)

1 Tbsp Basil Leaves

Dash of Sea Salt and Pepper

1/4 tsp of Garlic Powder

Filling:

12 Slices of Pepperoni

1/3 Cup of Reduced Fat, Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

2 Tbsps of Grated Parmesan Cheese

2 tsps of Basil Leaves

Combine all crepe base ingredients into a bowl until batter reaches a watery consistency. If the batter is too thick just gradually add some more milk. Heat a pan on low-medium flame.

Pour some batter and swirl until thin across pan. Cook crepe and flip onto other side once the edges start to turn golden brown. Remove crepe from heat and repeat until all batter is done.

Fill crepes evenly with pepperoni, mozzarella, parmesan and basil leaves. Roll up and sprinkle with basil and parmesan cheese and eat! Makes two large or four mini crepes. Serves two.

Calories (Per Serving): 315  Fat: 8g  Sodium: 560mg  Fiber: 3g  Protein: 13g

I wonder what other savory crepes I could do… even breakfast ones! Hmm, ideas!

*If you want to reduce sodium and fat, use only 8 pepperoni slices. Soduim would be 490mg and fat 6g. Calories and protein would also reduce to 285 and 12g protein.

Leave a Reply

