Cinnamon Sugared Almonds

You know that smell? The one that comes from those New York City cart vendors with candied nuts? It smells absolutely divine. I had the only craving for those nuts, but how to make them? I knew I wanted a honey flavor mixed with cinnamon sugar. I wanted to turn these simple little almonds into a treat.My mom also has these bad boys lying around. I miss having the Stacy’s cinnamon sugar pita chips. I use to have some as breakfast with a glass of Silk vanilla soy milk and 1 Tbsp of peanut butter. Freakin’ delicious, but totally explains why I was sick all the time. I mean come on, peanut butter on top of wheat? Gee Sabrina.After throwing some honey, maple syrup and cinnamon sugar together, I popped the almonds into the oven and made a delicious batch of cinnamon sugared almonds. But something was missing. I just didn’t know what.After making the first batch myself, I found this website with an awesome recipe for candied nuts from Smitten Kitchen. I decided to then combine my idea with this recipe. The result? Delicious cinnamon sugared almonds that not only took care of my New York nuts craving but also the lack of Stacy’s Pita Chips in my life. Enjoy!

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

1 1/2 Cup of Almonds*
2 Tbsps of Cinnamon Sugar*
1 Tbsp of Pure Cane Sugar*
1/4 tsp of Cinnamon (Optional)
1/4 tsp of Maple Syrup (Optional)
1 Egg White (Medium)
Dash of Salt

Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees. Mix sugars, cinnamon and salt; set aside. Beat egg white and maple syrup (or just add a splash of water) until frothy. Add almonds and stir, coating nuts evenly.

Sprinkle nuts with sugar mixture and toss until all nuts are coated evenly. Spread sugared nuts onto a cookie sheet sprayed with no-stick cooking spray (or use parchment paper).

Bake for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from oven and let cool for about 10-15 minutes or just eat them warm and straight from the oven! While cooling, make sure all nuts are separated.

Calories (3 Tbsps Serving): 135  Fat: 10g  Fiber: 2.5g  Sugar: 6g  Protein: 5g

  • *You can choose to use any other nut or even a blend. The second time around I added some pecans and cashews to the mix.
  • *If you don’t have cinnamon sugar you can just make your own blend using 3 Tbsps of any sugar and 1/4 tsp (or more) of cinnamon. Feel free to use what ever sugar you have on hand.
  • Maybe even try Stevia or Truvia for a no sugar added recipe? Maybe a blend of sugars? Let me know!
Leave a Reply

