Almond Butter Bliss

Last night I was craving Justin’s maple almond butter again! Remember that day I went to closest Whole Foods? I went in there looking for those little almond butter packets. I’m not going to pay $11.99 a jar because I pretty much only have these random cravings. It’s not like a daily need for me. Seems like it’s getting to that point though.

I’ve read, on countless occasions, of bloggers making their own nut butters. I decided to give it a shot, although I wasn’t sure it was going to work. I have one of those mini one cup food processors that only cost $8.99. I didn’t think it would be powerful enough to make a nut butter. Boy was I DEAD wrong. I made a crunchy, thick and creamy cinnamon maple almond butter (with a few cashews thrown in). I only had a 1/2 cup of almonds left, which was just enough to experiment with. I roasted the almonds (and the few random cashews) first. I then pulsed them into the food processor for about six minutes. Just when I say that it was starting to form a creamy consistency, I began to add the goodies.

  • 1 tsp Each of Sugar Free & Pure Maple Syrup*
  • 1 tsp of Canola Oil (Helped With Blending)
  • 1/2 Packet of Stevia*
  • 1/2 tsp of Cinnamon
  • Dash of Salt

I then continued with the blending for another five minutes until delicious almond butter (with a hint of cashew) was formed! If you want to see an awesome step by step on how to make your own nut butter, check out Heather Eats Almond Butter. I know totally appropriate for the occasion.I couldn’t wait to replicate my breakfast from my mini vacation in Hull, M.A. I didn’t, however, have any blueberry “muffin tops” handy. I ended up making a cinna-crunch one because after all I did add cinnamon to my almond butter. The result? Mighty delish!Each tablespoon only has about 90 calories and 2 grams of fiber. Not too shabby, if I may say so myself. I can’t wait to try out different nut and flavor combinations. Question: What do you think would make a good nut butter combination? Think outside the box! Hmm, maybe a coconut cashew butter is next on the agenda.

Options*

  • You can add less maple syrup if you want or you can also do all sugar free or vice-versa.
  • You can feel free to omit the Stevia if you want a plain nut butter, but I like things sweet!
One thought on “Almond Butter Bliss

Leave a Reply

