24 Means?

One June 22, I will be turning 24. It’s crazy how time flies. My 23rd year of living has been quite the ride. I’ve done so many things that I have never done in my life before. Some amazing and some not so amazing. But I have definitely grown a lot and it’s even better when people notice how you’ve changed.

What does turning 24 mean to me? Well, duh turning 24. Next year should be fun though because I turn a quarter century and my dad turns half a century. Don’t I make life sound so morbid? Shh, don’t tell him I told you guys that!

Okay, let’s get a bit serious here. Turning 24 means that I finally get to begin my Master’s program at Northeastern. Taking all these pre-req courses have been driving me insane and I am finally ready to get this thing going.

It also means I finally *fingers crossed* get to go to a conference in August to finally get my coaching certification. My life has always been thinking about others and now is no different. However, the difference is I have learned how to balance and know when I need to think about myself.

Turning 24 means changing the way I handle relationships. Whether family, friends, co-workers etc. I need to communicate things better and make sure to express myself in any way necessary. Turning 24 means to finally have stability. I want to stay at least somewhere for more than six months and that includes my current state and job.

Turning 24 means finally accepting who I am. Loving myself no matter what. I need to be proud of who I am, who I have become and who I will become. I must learn to accept who I am; all the imperfections as well as the amazing qualities I possess. No more putting myself down or comparing myself to others. I am me and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

To celebrate myself early, I am going to do a “clean eating” week before my birthday to tone up for my dress. The dress is not super tight or too revealing but I just want to feel good and confident. What does clean eating mean to me? When I do clean eating, I like to avoid dairy, so that means cutting back on eggs, cheese or Greek yogurt for me. Dairy tends to “bloat” and I don’t want to be bloated. And of course, no sweets!

Grocery/ Food List:

  1. Broccoli
  2. Sugar Snap Peas
  3. Red Potatoes & Barley
  4. Cashews & Almonds
  5. Luna Bars
  6. Turkey Burgers
  7. Chicken Breast
  8. Brown Rice Pasta
  9. Oranges, Bananas & Apples
  10. Coconut Milk
  11. Coconut Almond Granola (from a health food store)

Question: How do you celebrate yourself? New clothes? “You” time?

I love to always get myself a birthday dress and get or do something that makes me feel special. Perhaps when I go home to NY, I’ll do a Dahn Yoga class!

Leave a Reply

