Fun Finds Friday #6: Deconstructed “Burgers”

Like my Blueberry FFF, I decided to do the same concept for these two burger patties I found. I’m not a fan of having things as is. I like to think outside the box and get creative.

There are so many “non” burger burgers out there, I don’t even know where to begin. Well that’s a lie, I must fine one that is corn and wheat free. Let me tell you it has been quite a struggle but I manage to find one!

The Organic Sunshine Burger is made out of most brown rice, beans and sunflower seeds (for extra protein). The two burgers that I tried were between 240-250 calories and about 4 grams of fiber and about 9-10 grams of protein. I picked up two flavors; BBQ and Garden Herb.

The Sunshine BBQ Burger smelled amazing when I opened up the package. I couldn’t wait to make a burger with it, but after I thawed it out for a bit it started to break apart. I ended up making “not so chili, chili” with the BBQ burger. I followed the recipe from Vegetarian Times except I didn’t add the chili and I used green beans instead of carrots. The results? It was not terrible. I didn’t like the taste so much of the BBQ burger or the consistency. The Garden Herb Burger was next on my list to try since the BBQ one didn’t go so well. I had high hopes for it. But when I opened up the package, it smelled weird. I figured it was just the combo of spices. I crumbled the patties and made Garden Herb spinach wraps. The results? One bite and I did not like. It just had a very weird taste and the pattie looked nothing like the picture. It was mostly green and didn’t have a burger taste at all. Since it’s made out of beans, it had that “hummus” texture.Overall, I think you can pretty much guess that I was not a fan of the Organic Sunshine Burger. I really liked the concept though that it was free of a lot of allergens and was vegan friendly. Maybe someone else out there might like this burger. Let me know if that’s you!

Question: Are a fan of the “non” burger burgers?

I loved Morning Star veggie burgers. Then again I think everyone knows that by now.

6 thoughts on “Fun Finds Friday #6: Deconstructed “Burgers”

Leave a Reply

