Garlic & Herb Almonds (Salad Topper)

As a “wheat” free individual, I am not going to lie. I miss croutons. Real croutons made from delicious thick Italian bread. I’ve found some replacement ones, but they are just not the same. Sometimes I’ll give in a eat a few regular croutons and that would be no bueno to my tummy.

I decided to just get rid of that idea all together and do something a little different. I’ve seen Almond Accents in the supermarket in the produce isle but If I remember correctly, I think there is corn in it.

Why not just make my own faux Almond Accents? I’m on a garlic kick lately so I decided to make a garlic and herb almonds to place on my cesear salad I planned on having for lunch the other day.

The results? Way too good to be true! I’m am going to have to buy a truck load of sliced almonds and make more concoctions. You can feel free to use herbs of your choice too.

I even put some on top of my sauteed garlic green beans. I think I will never miss croutons again. Oh yeah, I said it. Without further adieu, here is the oh so simple garlic and herb almonds recipe.Ingredients:
1/2 tsp of Olive Oil
1/2 tsp of Butter (I used Brummel & Brown)
1/4 Cup of Sliced Almonds
1/2 tsp of Parsley Flakes
1/4 tsp of Crushed Garlic
Dash of Pepper

Turn stove top to medium heat. Take a skillet and drizzle olive oil all over. Then place crushed garlic. Let heat for one minute then add sliced almonds and parsley. Take a spatula and coat almonds well.

Take the pan and “shake” every minute or so to ensure almond don’t burn. Once the almonds turn golden brown, remove from heat and let sit for about two to three minutes. Take your almonds and top onto your favorite salad or dish. Enjoy! Makes 3-4 servings.

2 thoughts on “Garlic & Herb Almonds (Salad Topper)

Leave a Reply

