WIAW #25: Cleaning Up “House”

My body is my temple and I need to take care of it better. As many of you know I have issues with food allergies and anemia. I haven’t been taking care of myself 100%, but as of Sunday, I’ve been doing an excellent job and I am quite proud of myself. Yay for healthier and happier me!For this WIAW, I will be showing you my eats for one of my “clean” eating days. I did sneak in a banana though (I just had a mean sweet craving and I reached for that as oppose to chocolate cheesecake). If you don’t know what What I Ate Wednesday is, check it out over at Peas and Crayons!Breakfast: DAMY Gingerbread Protein Pancake (minus apple) w/ Almond Butter. So simple, so delicious!Snack: Cheese, Pear & Almonds. Here is where the dairy comes in. On the DAMY fat blaster program, dairy is not allowed (except yogurt) but since I am using it as a guideline to get my eating back in check, you will see it here in my eats.Lunch: Brown Rice, a baked plantain, black beans and sautéed spinach. I forgot how much I love sautéed spinach. A little olive oil, sea salt and minced garlic? Mmm.Snack: Here is the sneaky little banana. It took care of my sweet tooth, which is awesome! Normally I’d be wanting chocolate or ice cream, but I reached for Nature’s candy and felt satisfied!Dinner: Hard-boiled egg white, light string cheese, grapes & spinach/pineapple smoothie (not shown). Since I had school on Tuesday, I know I don’t really get to have a proper meal. I had a spinach and pineapple smoothie before class and the rest of the snacks after. Love it.Eating like this makes me feel so light and energized. I can tell that eating meat definitly weighs me down. Mostly because my digestive system is on the frtiz from all my food allergies. But since I do know how to make my body feel better, why not do it?

“The body is your temple. Keep it pure and clean for the soul to reside in.”
~B.K.S. Iyengar, Yoga: The Path To Holistic Health

4 thoughts on “WIAW #25: Cleaning Up “House”

  1. That baked plantain sounds interesting. What all did you do with it? Kind of sounds like a dish I got at a Cuban restaurant called The Byrd awhile back. Hmm… And is it weird that I’m craving grapes now? Haha. 😀

Leave a Reply

