Vanilla Almond Butter Granola (Vegan & GF)

What’s better than homemade granola? Granola mixed with almond butter of course! This has to be my favorite homemade granola to date. It comes out crunchy and very delicious.

I wasn’t feeling well on Tuesday, so I rested as much as I could. When I woke up I was craving granola, but something with vanilla and almond and I didn’t want to go out to buy some. Why not just make some?

I found a recipe on Good Cheap Eats that seemed pretty good. I decided to give a try to tweak it with what I had on hand. The results? A dangerously yummy granola that I am going to make quite often.

Just note that the nutrition info is based on the specific brands I used for each ingredient. It may vary depending on what you use. This recipe can be made sugar free, just see the options below. Enjoy!Ingredients (adapted from this recipe)

  • 3 Cups of Rolled Oats (Use Gluten-Free for GF version)
  • 1/2 Cup of Sliced or Chopped Almonds
  • 2 tsps of Light Brown or Coconut Sugar*
  • 1/2 2 Tbsps of Almond Butter (I used Trader Joe’s Raw & Crunchy)
  • 3 Tbsps of Maple Syrup or Agave Nectar or Honey*
  • 1 tsp of Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp of Oil (I used soybean oil)

Pre-heat the oven to 325° Take a cookie sheet and spray with non-stick cooking spray. In a bowl, combine oats and almonds, set aside. Then in a small saucepan, combine the sugar, almond butter, syrup (of your choice), oil and vanilla. Heat until the sugar is dissolved and mixture is liquidy.

Pour the liquid over the dry mixture and stir until oats and almonds are well coated. If your oats are too dry, add a teaspoon or two of warm water. Transfer the mixture to the cookie sheet and place into oven.

Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until golden brown. Stir granola mixture every 5 -10 minutes to ensure no sticking occurs. Remove granola once done, and let cool for about 10 minutes.

Place into an airtight container and enjoy however your heart desires. Makes about 8-1/2 Cup servings.Calories (Per Serving): 190  Fat: 7.5g  Sugars: 6g  Carbs: 27g  Protein: 6g  Fiber: 4g

Options*

  • You can omit brown sugar or use whatever sugar you have on hand (make it sugar-free with Stevia!), but the brown or coconut sugar makes a huge difference in taste, in my opinion..
  • You can use sugar-free maple syrup to reduce sugars and calories. It tastes just as good, but for this recipe I used maple syrup.
  • Use Stevia and sugar-free maple syrup to make this recipe sugar-free!
4 thoughts on “Vanilla Almond Butter Granola (Vegan & GF)

Leave a Reply

