Parmesan & Romano Gnocchi w/ Brussels Sprouts

My mom left this afternoon after spending the weekend with me. It was bittersweet to have her leave. I missed her tons. But at least I get to see her next week for Turkey Day. However, I totally forgot to tell you about this past Friday. It entails a savory recipe…

I finally had a half day to myself! I’ve been busy with friends, school and work that I quite enjoyed the me time I had Friday morning and part of the afternoon. I spent my time cooking some breakfasts for the weekend; I made banana maple oat pancakes and an apple pie like “muffin top.” That recipe will be coming soon. Stay tuned.Once roomie came home from work, we headed to the gym. Before we went I had a pre-workout snack of Greek yogurt and homemade granola. Delicious and just enough to fuel me at the gym.For dinner on Friday, I made something a little difference from my basil parmesan gnocchi. I got a packet of gluten-free gnocchi and wanted to make something yummy. I had a jar of Parmesan & Romano blend cheese and I decided to combine that with a similar approach to my homemade mac n’ cheese recipe.

The results? A delicious sauce that can be use for any pasta, but I of course love gnocchi. Does it even count as a pasta since it’s mostly potato? Ahh, who knows. Enjoy!Ingredients (Serves Four):

  • 1 Package of Gluten-Free Gnocchi (shelf stable or frozen)
  • 1/3 Cup of Parmesan & Romano Cheese Blended, Shredded
  • 1/3 Cup of Non-Dairy Milk (or your choice)
  • 1 tsp of Olive Oil
  • Dash of Sea Salt and Pepper
  • 1 tsp of Italian Seasoning Blend (I used Mrs. Dash)
  • Your Choice of Steamed Veggies (I used 1 Cup 1/2 of Brussels Sprouts)

Cook gnocchi according to package directions. While the gnocchi is cooking, place all other ingredients except veggies into a small pot on a stove top with a low flame.

Whisk ingredients together until it is hot and liquid-y. If you want the sauce thicker, add more cheese. If you want it thinner, add more milk. I personally like this balance.

Take your cooked gnocchi (drained of water, of course) and your choice of veggies and place them into a bowl. Add the cheese sauce to the bowl and stir until everything is well combined.

Divide amongst four plates and garnish with extra Italian seasoning, ground black pepper and parmesan cheese. Then eat!(Average Calories w/ Brussels Sprouts: 295)

*Nutrition information will vary depending on ingredients used

2 thoughts on “Parmesan & Romano Gnocchi w/ Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

