Cinnamon Pumpkin Muffins w/ “Frosting”

Happy Thanksgiving friends!

I made it home from Massachusetts in six hours yesterday. Normally the drip only takes me three hours. I was out of gas, food, water and my phone was dead. But I made it and I am thankful that I am here and get to spend time with my family.

Today I have for you a delicious recipe that you can use at any time of time. Or maybe that’s just me. You can have it for breakfast (make four giants ones), you can have one for snack, or you can have it for dessert. And yes, it’s pumpkin!

I have been craving something made with pumpkin ever since my mom bought me a can of pumpkin. It’s just I didn’t know what exactly to make. Plus I wanted to use up some soymilk I had before I headed to New York for Thanksgiving weekend.

I wanted something sweet the other day but didn’t have much in the pantry. Browsing through numerous recipes, Katie at Chocolate Covered Katie did a post on 35 healthy pumpkin recipes. Perfect timing, right?

I looked through all of them looking to see which I could possibly do. I spotted her single serving pumpkin chocolate-chip muffin. I didn’t want chocolate in the muffin (nor did I have any), so I altered it a bit and made it for six instead of one. Best part? You can microwave it! Oh and not to mention vegan.

I even made a cinnamon pumpkin cashew “frosting.” Oh yes. It tastes as good as it sounds and it’s super simple! hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did. The muffin tastes best warm so if it gets cold, just heat it for 20 seconds in the microwave. Enjoy!Cinnamon Pumpkin Muffins Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of White Rice Flour (or you can try another flour, I personally haven’t tried others)
  • 1/3 Cup of Canned Pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 Tbsp of Pure Maple Syrup (you can use agave or brown rice syrup too)
  • 1/2 Cup of Milk (I used unsweetened vanilla soy)
  • 1 Tbsp of Pure Cane Sugar (or you can try Stevia)
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp of Brown Sugar (light or dark)
  • 1 tsp of Cinnamon (or you can use pumpkin pie spice)
  • 1 tsp of Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp of Baking Powder
  • 1/8 tsp of Sea Salt
  • “Frosting” Ingredients: 2 Tbsp of Canned Pumpkin, 3 Tbsps of Cashew Butter (or your choice), 1 Tbsp of Pure Maple Syrup, 1/2 tsp of Cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice).

Mix all frosting ingredients well and set aside (or place in fridge if saving for later). Take all of the pumpkin muffin ingredients and mix well in a large bowl. Divide the muffin ingredients into six small ramekins or other microwave save container like small mugs.

Microwave one ramekin for two minutes and repeat until all muffin are cooked. If you want to bake the muffins, place into a preheated oven at 330 °F for about 12-15 minutes. Top a warm pumpkin muffin with about 2 tsps of “frosting” and sprinkle with cinnamon. Mmm!Question: So what’s your favorite pumpkin recipe? This one is definitely going down as mine!

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Pumpkin Muffins w/ “Frosting”

Leave a Reply

