Pumpkin’d Gnocchi

One word for this recipe? WOW. This recipe is quite simple but tastes really good. It kind of reminds me of sweet potato french fries and who wouldn’t want something that tastes like that?

I had left over pumpkin (which I froze) from after making the pumpkin muffins. I wanted to make a savory dish using the pumpkin and because I love gnocchi so much, why not make a sauce for it?

This recipe is a quick, easy and you can literally whip it up in under ten minutes. I will definitely be adding this to my rotation when I need to eat asap. Enjoy!IMG_20121127_121530Gnocchi with Pumpkin Sauce Ingredients:

  • One Package of Shelf Stable or Frozen Gnocchi (Regular, Wheat or GF)
  • 1/3 Cup of Canned Pumpkin
  • 2 tsps of Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsps of Parmesan Cheese (Grated)
  • 2 Tbsps of Milk (I used Unsweetened Soy)
  • 1 tsp of Italian Seasoning (I used Mrs. Dash)
  • 1 tsp of Parsley Flakes
  • 1/4 tsp of Garlic Powder (Or use fresh)
  • Dash of Salt & Pepper

Prepare gnocchi according to package directions, set aside. Place a small pot on the stove top over a low flame. Add all ingredients into the pot and stir until ingredients are well blended and warm. Feel free to try out your favorite spices with the sauce as well.

If you want the sauce thicker, add more parmesan cheese or a bit of flour (wheat, rice, etc.). For a thinner sauce, add more milk. Take the pumpkin sauce and pour into gnocchi and stir until gnocchi is covered with sauce. Top with a little bit of pepper and extra parsley flakes. IMG_20121127_121537Question: Have you every had a savory dish with pumpkin? I’ve tried pumpkin soup before, but didn’t really care for it. Maybe I should give it another shot?

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin’d Gnocchi

Leave a Reply

