Cinnamon & Cashew Butter Cookies (Grain-Free)

I wanted a cookie that I could use as a snack or even have for breakfast or pre-working or even post workout. Wow, run on sentence much Sabrina? Any who, this cookie you can make large or small. It makes eight large cookies or 16 small ones.

I made them big because if they are small, I’d eat them faster. Believe it or not. I’m just weird I suppose. Each cookie averages (if you make 16 small ones) 110 calories, 4g sugar, 3g protein and 1g fiber.

You can make these cookies with your choice or spices, nut butters, extracts and such. I just haven’t tried other variations yet. It’s easy and the reason these cookies came about was a. Detoxinista’s grain-free peanut butter chocolate chip cookie recipe and b. I has an unfinished jar of cashew butter I wanted to get rid of. I no longer like the taste of it, so I needed to do something with it.

I hope you enjoy these cookies as much as I did. They are quick to make, grain-free, gluten-free and peanut-free! I ate one with some of Godiva’s cinnamon gingerbread truffle coffee. Heaven ❤IMG_20121207_132155Cinnamon  & Cashew Butter Sugar Cookies Ingredients (Inspired by this recipe):

  • 1 cup of Creamy Cashew Butter (or your choice nut butter)
  • 1/4 Cup of Honey (you can use agave or maple syrup but cookies will be more “crumble-y”)
  • 1 Whole Large Egg
  • 1 tsp of Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of Baking Powder
  • 2 tsps of Brown Sugar (either light or dark works)
  • 1/4 tsp of Salt
  • Cashews & Cinnamon (for garnish)

Preheat your oven to 350F. In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients. Using a tablespoon or cookie scoop (or your hands like I did), drop batter onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Top each cookie with cashew pieces and extra cinnamon.

Bake for about 8-10 minutes. Turn the pan half-way through the baking time to ensure the cookies brown evenly. Once the cookies are lightly browned, remove the pan from the oven, and allow the cookies to cool on the baking sheet for about 10 minutes. Once they are cool, and firm enough to handle, use a spatula to remove the cookies and serve with coffee or warm milk.703708_10101446934837850_1666890375_oQuestion: Have you ever man any grain-free baked goods? My other favorite grain-free recipe is this peanut butter banana muffins. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon & Cashew Butter Cookies (Grain-Free)

Leave a Reply

