Fun Finds Friday #22: What the Buck[wheat]?

Clever title, huh? Well I thought it would be funny for this edition of fun finds Friday. As you guessed it, it’s all about buckwheat. I have three products to share with you; a cracker, cereal and pasta.

What is buckwheat? It’s actually gluten-free despite the word “wheat” in it’s name. Check out what vegetarian.about.com has to say:

“Buckwheat, which is commonly found in raw food diet recipes, has a slightly deceptive name that can easily cause confusion. Buckwheat is not wheat, nor is it related to wheat. It is not a grain nor a cereal and is gluten-free. So where does it come from? Buckwheat is derived from the seeds of a flowering plant.”

Orgran’s buckwheat pasta was purchased because my doctor told me to increase my fiber; as much as I can. The pasta had 5g of fiber and 8g of protein. How did it taste? It was actually pretty good and reminded me of whole wheat pasta. The texture was of “normal” pasta but with added health benefits! I will definitely try from more of this brand.IMG_20121226_101815And why yes I just did. I also got their buckwheat crackers. I’ve been eating a lot of the Wasa crackers but I’d like to find a good crackers similar that I know is gluten (and corn) free. I found these and they were not bad but I don’t think I’d buy them again. I may try their rice or quinoa ones though.IMG_20121228_163651Arrowhead Mills cereal? Well I am saving the best for last. I love Nature’s Path millet rice cereal but it isn’t labeled wheat free. So I found these buckwheat maple flakes that looked similar. The results? So delicious and tasted pretty close to the Nature’s Path cereal. I had some with granola and a banana. Perfection.IMG_20121228_163716Question: Any new finds during your grocery shopping? Have you tried any of Orgran’s or Arrowhead Mills products? I must say they are pretty tasty and I will be trying more things for sure.

Leave a Reply

