WIAW #37: More Veggies Please!

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

I have been doing so well as of late with eating according to my “diet.” I am so proud of myself for sticking to it and I have been eating more veggies too. My body says “give me more veggies” and hey I’m not complaining one bit. If you are new to the WIAW party, check it out at Peas and Crayons!wiawphotobuttonFor breakfast (and sometimes dinner), I’ve been doing a breakfast cake with yogurt, pumpkin/ sunflower seeds plus a drizzle of maple syrup. Simply delish.IMG_20130126_202030So I made this little cheesy egg “cake” for a snack. All you need is 1/4 cup of egg whites, 1/2 oz. of cheddar cheese, 1/2 tsp of Earth Balance, and 1/2 tsp of GF flour. Just mix it all together and stick into the microwave for about 45 seconds and there you have it! A quick snack that’s about 80 calories and 10-12g of protein, depending on the type of cheese you use, of course.IMG_20130126_203650Lunches have been my biggest meals as of late.. One of the days I had a veggie burger with rice, beans, plantains, greens and a few fries. The lot!IMG_20130125_155025My other favorite lunch was this; a black bean wrap that I filled with organic baby spinach and a side of almonds, [Stonyfield] yogurt and…IMG_20130128_121854A yummy organic gala apple! IMG_20130128_171415More snacks? I’ve eaten a hard-boiled egg with some of these crackers from Blue Diamond. Hands down my favorite of all their crackers/ chip things.IMG_20130126_102316Plus lots of “I need a pick me up at 3:00pm” coffee. I tried Starbucks new blonde roast. Oh my gosh, so good!IMG_20130128_153316Dinners have just been whatever I can think of. The other day I went to the Chinese buffet and grabbed a little fried rice, some steamed broccoli and sugar snap peas. I mixed some plain brown rice and made my own healthier stir-fry with the yummy steamed veggies.IMG_20130128_201411Dessert? I had a few Lindt white chocolate truffles. Vanilla, creamy and dreamy! IMG_20130129_201530Question: How have you been about getting your veggies in? There is something about winter that just doesn’t make me want veggies. All I want is carbs, mostly in dessert form, of course.

14 thoughts on “WIAW #37: More Veggies Please!

  1. OMG all i want to do in the winter is sit around and eat bagels…lol I joke
    but I agree with you!
    I really do crave more carby foods and A LOT OF coffee!!!
    I have been neglecting veggies, which is not good!!!!!

  2. What brand of veggie burger do you use? I’m having a hard time finding a good one…

    All of those eats look amazing, and if I had to choose a favorite chocolate over Dove, it would for SURE be Lindt truffles!

Leave a Reply

