Going Paleo [Diet] + Recipe!

I may have cheated and started the Paleo Diet this past Wednesday. I know I was going to start it today, but I was just so curious to try it out. I haven’t been 100% perfect, but definitely at least more than 90%. I went to the grocery store on Wednesday to grab things for it.

Lean Pork Chops, Maple Sausage, Eggs, Flax Milk, Coconut Cream, Hemp Seeds, Almonds & Almond Butter

Lean Pork Chops, Sausage, Eggs, Flax Milk, Coconut Cream, Hemp Seeds, Almonds & Almond Butter

Trust me, there will be more fruits and veggies then this. I just didn’t want to over get anything in case it went bad. I have that habit of not using things if I have too much.

IMG_20130219_193323

Brussels Sprouts, Pears, Banana, Apple & Spinach

I also made a batch of these grain-free banana nut muffins in a loaf pan. I had no idea they were Paleo (granted that you not use peanut butter and do honey); well partially because I wasn’t thinking like that at all. Took 30 minutes instead to cook in the oven, but no biggy. They are worth the wait. IMG_20130220_104644For breakfasts so far I’ve eating the loaf or egg whites with spinach and sausage. For a snack or even with the egg breakfast I’ll do fruit and nuts. I try not to go over 15g of fat because of my bile reflux, but it isn’t always easy on said Paleo Diet.IMG_20130220_095530It’s only been five days, but how do I feel? Well I must say I thought I would be livid about not having dairy, but I honestly don’t mind (plus I am lactose intolerant and really should have much anyway). I also thought I would have carb withdrawal but having made the muffins as a bread loaf tricks the mind.

I notice that I feel more “satisfied” and not super bloated and stuffed as when I eat carbs. Just so you know my starches are mostly in the form of rice; rice breads, wraps and such.

Here is a little treat for you though. Coconut Almond Paleo Pancakes! I have been looking at a ton of Paleo pancake recipes but most call for almond meal/ flour or coconut flour. I honestly don’t have the money to purchase either. But I did have almonds and unsweetened coconut flakes from Bob’s Red Mill.

Let’s improvise shall we? Now this recipe is definitely a once in a while treat. Each pancake comes out to around 180 calories but is full of delicious healthy fats (about 15g). It’s so yummy and coconut-ty, perfect for a nice Sunday breakfast. Enjoy!DSCF1037Coconut Almond Paleo Friendly Pancakes Ingredients (Serves two)

  • 1/4 Cup + 2 Tbsps Unsweetened Coconut Flakes (Plus extra for topping)
  • 3 Tbsps of Whole Raw Almonds (I think sliced would work way better)
  • 1 Whole Large Egg
  • 1 tsp of Honey (Agave or pure maple syrup works too)
  • 1/2 tsp of Coconut Sugar (Or Light Brown Sugar, if not Paleo)
  • 2-4 Tbsps of Unsweetened Vanilla Coconut Milk (like So Delicious or use Almond Milk)
  • 1/4 tsp of Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp of Chia Seeds (Optional to mix in and for topping)

Place the egg, honey and 2 Tbsps of coconut milk into a blender. Blend for a few seconds and then add remaining ingredients. Blend well until it reaches a “pancake” batter consistency. If the mixture is too thick, then add an extra Tbsp or so of milk.

Divide the batter among two flat plates and place each plate in the microwave for about 1 1/2 – 2 minutes. Once both “pancakes” are cooked, remove from plates and sprinkle with extra chia seeds and coconut flakes and drizzle a little more honey on top.

Question: How do you feel about this Paleo diet thang? So far I must say, it is pretty good. I had a piece of toast (aka non-Paleo) and my acid reflux instantly came. So, hmmm I wonder?

2 thoughts on “Going Paleo [Diet] + Recipe!

  1. I love how paleo makes me feel but I always have a hard time sticking with it in the long run. Also it’s really hard to not eat a ton of fat when I’m eating paleo, but I feel like your body burns through it differently. Like I feel like you need more fat when eating paleo, but idk if that’s the same with everyone. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

