Paleo Week: Completed

Okay, okay. 

One week (and change) has passed that I have been on the paleo diet. I haven’t done it 100%. Most days I have but maybe there was about three days that I only did it 80%. I may have had a little rice or ate a handful of sour gummies, which by the way taste horrible. But for some reason I kept eating them.DSCF1037What can we conclude from this paleo thing? There was one thing that stood out. I haven’t taken my acid/ bile reflux medication since the day I started. Normally I take a pill every other day or every day. Sometimes even 2-3 times a day. I was worried about that when I started because my fat intake would exceed 50g for sure.IMG_20130222_143342But even though I ate about 80g of fat a day, nothing. I haven’t really had any issues and honestly that makes me so damn happy. I started looking into it and found an article about GERD and the Paleo diet. Since the paleo diet is a low-carb diet, your body doesn’t have to work to breakdown the carbs or too many starches. IMG_20130220_104644Our bodies digest protein much faster then carbs, which is why if you have a late night snack, make it something with more protein so it can breakdown quicker. Plus a lot of greens help fight inflammation. It’s a really good read; if you have a few minutes, check it out. Energy wise, I felt normal (which is good!) and I didn’t have to eat ever 2-3 hours, which sometimes is a good thing. I just want to eat and not think about it. Going out wise, there are more options for me too. I can order some meat and order some type of veggies.It’s way easier of a diet then vegetarian ever was. Granted it was hard to eat that much meat again, but I think between my food allergies, bile reflux and anemia, this is probably the best diet out there for me. Now of course not everything works for everyone, but you have to find what works for you. I’m going to keep giving this paleo diet a try and see what happens. But for now, I am happy and acid-free!IMG_20130225_081517Question: Does your diet go through different phases? Mines definitely does because of all my “issues.” But I think, I have found the solution! *Crosses Fingers*

10 thoughts on “Paleo Week: Completed

  1. I think that’s great! Even with the 80% days, I think that’s actually better than following it 100%. I feel like when people follow paleo, or really any diet, 100% they often feel limited and lash out later. Awesome job girl!

  2. I think that’s great! Even with the 80% days, I think that’s actually better than following it 100%. I feel like when people follow paleo, or really any diet, 100% they often feel limited and lash out later. Awesome job!

  3. Hi Sabrina, I’ve read a lot on Mark’s Daily Apple. Paleo in PDX, etc other sites and paleo is NOT necessarily low car. Tina at “carrots n cake” has said that lots of times also.
    I have a TOn of digestive issues, rarely exercise and am 31….could you email me maybe? ‘m so discouraged with myself. I Feel like i need a TRUE cleanse/detox (so constipated) but just am lost…thanks for emaling (I hope).

Leave a Reply

