WIAW #44: Lean, Green and Full of Protein!

I attempted to make that rhyme. I think I semi succeeded? 

Happy WIAW folks. If you are new to the party, check it out over at Peas and Crayons. For today I have a twist on one of my favorite recipes.wiawphotobuttonBefore that, breakfasts has been this same star thing of a pear and these oats. It’s been giving me the energy I need and I’m not tired of it… yet.IMG_20130330_112033Snacks have been either a second round of the oats or nothing at all. I went to the beach for lunch the other day. I know, It looks totally horrible, but it was delicious! Pork chop with greens, sunflower seeds and a Luna vanilla almond bar.IMG_20130401_132803And I had coffee and chocolate before dinner. That day, I went to the gym and then straight to yoga. So not the best pre-workout snack. You bet my body was sore as hell the next day.IMG_20130402_120001On to the mac and cheese. All I did was use this recipe, subbed the flour for a scoop of this unflavored protein powder, used raw organic cheddar cheese and used gnocchi instead (and no breadcrumbs, so no oven step either). A serving of this powder has 100 calories and 19g of protein.IMG_20130402_115141It really didn’t taste a different but I did add some garlic to the sauce. Made it cheddar and garlic-y. So delicious and a great way to add more protein to a carb-y dish!284607_625722894107941_1871187035_nQuestion: Ever put protein powder in a weird place? I usually stick to putting it in protein [pan]cakes or protein balls. But now with this unflavored one? Oh the possibilities!

7 thoughts on “WIAW #44: Lean, Green and Full of Protein!

    • Yes! lol I didn’t mention that apparently! The powder has no flavor so it just tasted like the same recipe 🙂 The flour is to thicken anyway. Sometimes I don’t even use it. But since I had some of this powder, I gave it a go 🙂

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

