Taking A Step Back

“A tidbit for you if you may or may not know, I was diagnosed with depression last summer and I refused to take medication.

Yoga cures, which is why I set myself to do yoga at least 1-2 times a week since that day. Now I am doing yoga 3-4 times a week and I cannot stress how amazing for the mind it is.

I am more awaken then ever.Yoga is beautiful. Love your body, free your mind, awaken your soul.”

Here’s something that I posted on my personal Facebook yesterday. I mentioned this to you guys at some point, but I wanted to mention it again because I’ve been taking yoga again more frequently at Excel Yoga. If you are in the Bronx, you should give them a try.IMG_20130402_175528I’ve tried all their yoga levels plus Zumba and even belly dancing. Zumba was pretty fun and better then I expected and belly dancing was quite intense. I used to do belly dancing from FitTV back when I was in high school so I did remember some things. Boy was I rusty.Alexis' classThe instructor, Alexis, (check our here site here!) was very good at being patient in helping me learn a particular movement. It was fun! Definitely need to make sure I get to another class. I also enjoyed feeling elegant. “Feeling” because I’m sure I didn’t look it. But practice makes perfect, right?Snapshot_20130403Something I wanted to mention was that I am going to be taking a step back. No I’m not going to stop blogging, but I need to not blog as frequent as I do. I probably will go to 3-4 times a week instead of 5-6. I’m just at the point where I need to focus on myself.IMG_20130403_102233Focus on what makes me happy; where I need to be. Focus on the little bits of bliss; like Green Mountain Coffee, cooking, baking or a piece of chocolate.IMG_20130403_230657 I’m also going to take a step back from LiveFit. It’s an awesome program, but mentally, I am not ready for it. I am going to stick to my personal workouts and some DAMY ones. Also focusing on food; going back to a more vegetarian based diet and eating what works for me.IMG_20130402_200230 I also posted a video of “taking a step back” if you are interested. I hope everyone is well and can understand. Just remember at the end of the day, it’s all about you. If you aren’t well, then you can’t help anyone else. Be the best version of you that you can become.

10 thoughts on “Taking A Step Back

  1. Totally understand the need to take a step back. Blogging can be so time-consuming! I have never really gotten into yoga, but I have been meaning to try it. hope you enjoyed the coffee and chocolate 🙂

  2. I’ve never done yoga! It’s funny because it would probably help me de-stress but I feel like I couldn’t just sit there and not have my mind racing and thinking about all that I need to get done. How do you free your mind of everything? Any tips?

    • I totally agree! I am a hardcore gym lover. Believe it or not, I actually let my mind think of everything as we are sitting in meditative post. I let it race, think of everything and within the next 10 mins… my mind goes blank. It’s weird, but it was for me!

Leave a Reply

