Sugar-Free Chocolate Dip (GF & Vegan)

This morning I was feeling me some oats. I had these oats with some soymilk, pumpkin seeds, almonds and a maple syrup drizzle.531914_631744553505775_463699327_nMr. Hercules was being really lazy. I mean… really?IMG_20130408_072747It’s okay, I was doing the same yesterday. It was a beautiful day, so I decided to take my studying outside. Tell me this isn’t an awesome study view?IMG_20130410_165131All that studying made me crave something sweet. I wanted chocolate, but not in candy form. I read Ashley’s blog yesterday and saw her pudding recipe, which was super simple!

I didn’t exactly want pudding, so I took her awesome recipe and tweaked it to make more of a “dip.” Best of all? It’s sugar-free (w/ sugar added option), gluten-free, and vegan. There are options below to make it with added sugar or non-vegan. Check it out!IMG_20130410_195632Sugar-Free Chocolate Dip Ingredients (Inspired by this recipe)

  • 2 Tbsps of Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Tbsp of Coconut Oil
  • 3 Tbsps of Non-Dairy Milk, Divided
  • 1-2 Packets of Stevia*
  • 1/2 tsp of Vanilla Extract
  • OPTIONALS*
  • 1 tsp of Pure Maple Syrup or Agave* (again if you don’t mind the added sugar)
  • 1-2 Tbsps of Plain or Vanilla Greek Yogurt* (adding this makes it non-vegan)

Place all ingredients (using only 2 Tbsps of non-dairy milk first) into a bowl and stir a bit. Then place in the microwave for about 15-20 seconds.

Remove from microwave, stir well and add remaining milk (add Greek Yogurt or maple syrup here, if desired). If it get’s a little “clumpy” just add a splash of milk and place back into the microwave for 10-15 seconds. Enjoy hot or let it cool for 5 minutes, dipping your favorite fruits.

Or pour onto your pancakes, waffles, french toast… get creative! Serves Two! Recipe makes about 1/4 Cup (with Greek Yogurt; about 1/3 cup); 2 Tbsps is nice a serving size. Enjoy!

Question: What’s your favorite kind of dip?

I’m going to have to go with Auntie Anne’s sweet cream dip thing. Cinnamon sugar pretzels and sweet cream =  heaven! I don’t eat that anymore due to my allergies. Probably a good thing!

*Awesome tip: Turns into a “mousse” if you leave it in the fridge for like 20 minutes  You can eat it all for under 200 calories (depending on the ingredients you use)!*

Just remember… it’s super rich, so a little goes a long way!

20 thoughts on “Sugar-Free Chocolate Dip (GF & Vegan)

Leave a Reply

