GF Coconut Breakfast “No-Bake” Cake

I’ve been doing a lot of oats as you know. But the oats and I don’t have a happy relationship, so I wanted to tone down the oats intake. I had a little bag of coconut flour and decided to search for a breakfast cake type recipe and found this one from The Wannabe Chef.

I modified the recipe using what I had on hand and it came out pretty delicious! I was surprised at the sweet hint of coconut in the cake. This recipe is gluten-free and has about 15g of protein! It can be completely paleo if you omit the oats and add a smidge more ground flax seeds or coconut flour.

It is your choice, but I like how the cake comes out with the oats better. It also doesn’t have as much fat as the original recipe, since you know I have to be careful due to my bile reflux. Best of all is you just have to pop in in the microwave. No baking [aka oven] required. Enjoy!942272_10101562169252160_409450196_nIngredients for Coconut Breakfast Cake: (Inspired by this recipe, serves one)

  • 2 Tbsps of Coconut Flour
  • 1 -2 tsps of Agave or Honey
  • 1 Tbsp of GF Rolled Oats (but any will do, or a sub for more flax or flour)
  • 1 Whole Egg and 1 Egg White
  • 1 Tbsp of Non-Dairy Milk
  • 1 tsp of Earth Balance, melted (maybe try coconut oil or applesauce?)
  • 1/2 tsp of Vanilla Extract
  • Dash of Sea Salt
  • 1 tsp of Ground Flax Seeds

Place all wet ingredients, plus sea salt into a bowl and whisk well together. Then add the flour, oats and flax seeds into bowl with wet ingredients. Mix well together. Then taking another small bowl or ramekin, spray bowl with a little non-stick cooking spray. Pour cake mixture into bowl.

Place in the microwave for 1 1/2 to 2 minutes, depending on your microwave. Remove cake from microwave and turn upside down to remove and place onto a plate or another bowl to let it cool for a few minutes. Top with more flax seeds, nuts, agave/ honey drizzle or whatever your heart desires.601649_10101562260085130_661089716_nQuestion: Are you a fan of coconut flour? What is you favorite type of flour to cook with? I’d have to go with oat flour or rice flour. Yum, yum, yum!

4 thoughts on “GF Coconut Breakfast “No-Bake” Cake

  1. This looks really good! I have not made any sort of microwave cakes yet, but I’ve been wanting to try a healthy version. I’ve never used coconut flour either, but I do love coconut so I’m sure I’d like it!

Leave a Reply

