Mini Grain-Free & Paleo Maple Almond Cakes

Well now… I got the idea for these when I wanted to attempt making waffles using this recipe, but then I was craving some form of cake. My friend inspired this recipe since; he loved my protein cakes.

I mean loved. But since he is trying to tone up for the summer he asked if I could make a low carb version of my delicious protein cakes. The result? This lovely little cake that is grain-free, gluten-free, Paleo and microwavable. Y’all know my love affair with the microwave.

I just can’t live without it. You can eat it for breakfast or as a snack and even change up the nut butter. I think cashew butter would go yummy or even adding some cinnamon. Mmmm.374401_10101512678397230_1996607009_nMini Pale Maple Almond Cakes (Makes 2)

  • 1/3 Cup of Almond Flour
  • 1 Large Egg White
  • 2 Tbsps of Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 2 tsps of Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1-2 tsps of Coconut Sugar (or your choice!)
  • 1 Tbsp of Almond Butter (I use Justin’s Maple)
  • 1/2 tsp of Baking Powder
  • Dash of Sea Salt

Mix everything well in a small bowl. Divide mixture into two 1/2 cup ramekins or silicone muffin liners or two small bowls. Sometimes if I am eating it for breakfast and I am extra hungry, I’ll just leave the mixture in the small bowl and have both servings.

Place into the microwave for about 1 1/2 – 2 minutes (depending on your microwave). If you want to add a topping like I did above, put it before you microwave. Or you can just top with deliciousness after like I did with the one below. Let it cool for a minute or two and then dig in!Question: What’s your favorite low-carb treat? This and almonds are definitely on top of my list!

2 thoughts on “Mini Grain-Free & Paleo Maple Almond Cakes

Leave a Reply

