What A[N Almost] Vegan Eats

Guess what time I woke up this morning? 5:18am!And my body was like “go pee and go for a run.” I swear it was bizarre. It felt like someone was controlling me but I was wide awake! After my run, I went straight home to do back/ biceps/shoulders with the kettle-bells. My legs are still sore from leg day two days ago. But I love the burn.

I’m sure you guys can tell by my past WIAW that I am back on my vegetarian grind. It wasn’t something that I planned persay, I just found myself gravitating to less-no meat. My body was craving other goodies like more fruit, nuts and seeds. Perhaps the weather?Since pretty much the only non-vegan things I was eating was Laughing Cow cheese wedges, chocolate and the occasional yogurt, I decided to give it a go for the week. I’ve cut out dairy tremendously and I can’ tell my stomach is less bloated. And being less bloated means more energy; for me at least.First up is some groceries. Now I had oats, spring mix, broccoli and nut-thins in my house already, so I wanted a few extra goods. The hummus is actually pretty good, maybe a bit too lemon-y but I am happy it is sesame seed free as I am allergic (it gives me migraines).My quick lunch of a “pizza on wrap” has remained the same but since I am not using laughing cow I do this; 1-2 Tbsp of hummus, 1 tsp of Italian seasoning, 1 tsp of minced garlic, 1/2 tsp of both garlic powder and chia seeds and a sprinkle of sea salt and pepper.Top it with whatever veggies you like or have a side salad! I also still do my little platters; this time hummus, flax crackers (or nut-thins) nut butter and trail mix. Sometimes I do a Kind Bar if I am extra hungry. And as you can tell, I sprinkle chia way too much.Now there is chocolate there and hence the almost vegan part, I wanted to finish up a few of my extra dark chocolate squares, but I will be getting some vegan chocolate this week. A girl needs her chocolate. Or I can make these too. What else do I eat? For breakfasts it’s usually oats with chia seeds, soy milk, agave and some nuts. Most of my snacks are either fruit or trail mixes. I’ve been on a pear, apple and banana kick. I bought some goji berries and cranberries to have with almonds. Plus some pumpkin seeds, which are all gone. Sometimes I even do roasted/ grilled veggies with rice and black beans. But since I haven’t been in a cooking mood, I am sticking to my wrap pizza’s, platters and salads.

Question: What are you favorite vegan meals? Any vegans out there have any tips or suggestions for me?! I would love some good food or snack ideas :]

5 thoughts on “What A[N Almost] Vegan Eats

  1. Some of my go-to vegan dishes
    – Wrap: sauteed peppers/red onion w/ Italian seasoning and hummus on whole wheat pita wrap
    – SPAGHETTI SQUASH! So good, you can eat it with any vegan sauces, other veggies, etc. I like to do just tomato puree w/ seasoning and dice up zucchini and butternut squash and it bulks up the sauce and makes it real filling.. my boyfriend said it reminded him of having meat in the sauce but better
    – Sweet potato fries are great when I want to eat “junk food” – i use only 1.5t oil for the whole potato and just salt/pepper/garlic powder to season
    – quinoa stir fry – quinoa w/ sauteed peppers, onions, carrots, zucchini, pineapple, garlic, etc.
    – veggie/rice curry – diced/sauteed veggies w/ rice and lots of curry powder
    – silk yogurt w/ vegan granola (have a great recipe if you want it)
    – shish kebabs – veggies and pineapple
    all of my veggie dishes I make in big batches then I have meals ready for at least a few days! But of course you are a pro with the meal planning already lol

  2. That’s so cool that you just got up and got to exercising! I love that feeling, though usually I’m not as wide awake as it sounds like you were. I don’t know if you’ve seen it, but I have a recipe for vegan chocolate bars on my site that might help you with that chocolate craving. To say I’m familiar with that craving is an understatement. 😉

  3. Your meals sound like mine exactly. Cheese, chocolate, and a little yogurt here and there are pretty much the only things that I like to eat. Oh, and I love seafood so I guess that’s different! Maybe it’s the summer weather making you want more healthy food?

Leave a Reply

