Guest Post: Homemade Granola (Vegan)

Good morning friends!

I have an awesome guest post/ recipe for you from one my YouTube buddies, Jenna! Back in the day we were both into vlogging and got to know each other really well. Now I like blogging and she’s all about yoga!

Before I get into this delicious recipe, I just wanted to let you know… since I am doing vegan and all, Trader Joe’s has a list on their site that tells you what products are vegan. I’m so happy their dark chocolate bars are vegan because vegan chocolate can be quite pricey. And I am a broke grad student so uh every bit helps! Now, onto Jenna’s granola;

Hello all! My name is Jenna. I’m a certified yoga instructor and long-time food lover. I am honored that Sabrina asked me to do a guest post on her blog!Today I will be sharing with you a very easy recipe for homemade vegan granola. Granola is so easy to make at home and it is much healthier than any processed store-bought kind, which likely contains added sugar, high fructose corn syrup and tons of preservatives!

I’ve been on a very long journey to overhaul my health and fitness habits over the past four years. I was overweight my whole childhood and teenage life and worked hard to lose 50 pounds when I was in my first year or two of college. When I first started to lose weight, I was definitely eating healthier than before, but I still wasn’t eating very healthy (think 100 calorie packs, etc).

Somewhere along the way I found yoga and it changed my life in a million different ways. Last year I did my 200-hour yoga teacher training, and through this training and my regular yoga practice I found the strength to set myself on a new journey: eliminating animal products from my diet. I have found that adopting a plant-based, whole foods diet has had a profound impact on my health and my mood. I am much more energetic, I feel like I have been sleeping better, I don’t get that food-baby or food-coma feeling anymore even after consuming a big meal.

I have found that I feel slimmer on a consistent basis. As a result I feel a lot better about myself. Not only do I feel better, but it makes me feel very empowered and proud that my actions are not contributing to the harm of animals. I have had strong objections to the meat and dairy industries for years but I always thought that it would be too hard to be vegetarian, let alone vegan.

And I’m not going to lie, it’s not always easy, but it just takes a little planning! I’m not here to tell you to change your diet, I’m just here to share my experience! No matter what kind of diet you follow, rest assured this granola recipe is delicious and simple! Enjoy!Check me out at jennapenfoundyoga.weebly.com

Homemade Granola (vegan)

Yields: 6 cups

4 cups rolled oats

2 cups mixed nuts/seeds (you can use whatever you want, I use a mix of almonds, pecans, walnuts, chia seeds and hemp seeds)

1 ½ teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

½ cup warm water

½ cup agave nectar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup mixed dried fruit (again, use whatever. I use raisins, dried cranberries, dried chopped apricots)

  1. Set oven to 300 degrees
  2. Lightly spray/oil 2 large baking sheets
  3. In a large bowl, stir together the oats, nuts, seeds and spices
  4. In a small bowl, stir together the warm water, agave nectar and vanilla
  5. Slowly pour the wet mixture over the dry mixture, stir to combine
  6. Spread out on baking sheets
  7. Bake (center oven rack) about 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so to prevent burning, until granola is crumbly and golden
  8. Remove from oven and immediately stir in the raising and apricots
  9. Let cool and store in airtight container. Lasts longer if kept in refrigerator!
  10. Enjoy! (I eat mine like cereal with coconut or almond milk. Or I even mix it into soy yogurt for a sweet treat!!)

Thank you again Jenna for this awesome post! I am totally going to be making this because I am getting chia/oatmeal-ed out and it just looks marvelous.

Question: Do you ever make your own granola or buy it? If I buy it, it’s always Nature’s Path. They are my favorite brand hands down!

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Homemade Granola (Vegan)

  1. Oh yum! I’ve made macadamia yogurt granola and pb&j granola, and they were both absolutely amazing! I definitely think this would fall into the same category. 🙂
    However, I happen to be extremely lazy, and usually just buy Kind blueberry clusters granola, though Nature’s Path coconut chia granola is pretty awesome. I really should try making homemade again though…

Leave a Reply

