Protein Maple & PB French Toast (With Vegan & Gluten-Free Options)

To celebrate all the awesomeness going on in my life, I decided to make some french toast. To me french toast screams celebration. Or maybe that’s just the french toast obsessed side of me screaming?

Either way, I gave in. I made french toast recipes before like cinnamon and almond butter stuffed and cinnamon maple coconut. Can you tell I used to have a cinnamon problem?

For this recipe, I used this peanut butter marshmallow protein powder which has 130 calories and 25g of protein per scoop. But you can just use PB2 if you’d like  (for vegan option) or your favorite raw/ vegan protein powder. Just know that the protein count will vary depending on what you use.

For the bread I used Trader Joe’s Soft Multigrain Rustico Bread, which has 4g of fiber and 3g of protein per serving! You also can use whichever bread you fancy. I say use the raisin pecan bread from Food For Life if you are looking for a vegan and gluten-free bread that will taste delicious with this recipe.

With the ingredients I used, the french toast had about 25g of protein. It really kept me satisfied for quite some time; more satisfying the then granola muffins which I did not think was possible. I hope you enjoy this delicious recipe as much as I did!Protein Maple & PB French Toast Ingredients

  • 2-3 Slices of Bread
  • 1 Tbsp of PB Protein Powder
  • 1 tsp of Natural Peanut Butter (Or your choice nut butter)
  • 3 Tbsp of Non-Dairy Milk (I used vanilla soy)
  • 2 Large Egg Whites (or use about 1/4 cup extra of milk or flax egg for vegan option)
  • 1 tsp of Maple Syrup
  • Dash of Sea Salt
  • 1/2 tsp of Vanilla Extract (Optional*)
  • 1 tsp of Chia Seeds (Optional*)

Mix all the ingredients well into a bowl except for the chia seeds. Dip the bread slices into the french toast mixture until you’ve used it all up. Depending on how much liquid the bread soaks up, you will use about 2-3 slices.

If you want, you could also leave the bread soaking over night for more flavor. Take a medium-sized pan and spray with non stick cooking spray. Place pan on a low-medium flame and put bread slices on the pan, topping with some chia seeds.

Cook until each side is golden brown. Remove from pan and let cool for a minute or so and drizzle with more maple (and chia seeds for crunch) and dig in!

Question: Are you a french toast kind of person? Or maybe you prefer waffles or pancakes? Ahh I seriously can’t decide, but I seriously had to, I’d go with waffles. The tough decisions in life we go through, sigh!

17 thoughts on “Protein Maple & PB French Toast (With Vegan & Gluten-Free Options)

  1. I love all 3, but if stranded on a deserted island, I would choose pancakes. By the way where can I pick up the PB protein powder?

  2. My absolute favorite might have to be waffles too, but I do love all three! And if I tried this french toast, my favorite just might change… truly, this looks soooooo good!!! Pb and maple is such a good combo. And I bet some coconut butter spread on top would be fantastic – pb+maple+coconut is a combo made in heaven 🙂

  3. I would not even know how I ended up the following, but I believed this post had been great. I dont know whom you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you arent already 😉 All the best!

Leave a Reply

