WIAW #86: Day In The Life of Body Builder In Training

By no means am I perfect.

I am learning and trying to rid my body of the things I “shouldn’t” eat and I emphasize those quotations. For this WIAW (thanks Jenn!), I am going to show you a day in the life of my eats as a body builder in training. I try to be very on point, but I won’t deprive myself. Remember, this is a journey, not a ending.wiawphotobutton

Breakfast: I normally start my day this; 1/2 cup of oats mixed with 1/2 cup of water, dash of cinnamon and a teaspoon or two of soynut butter. I also add some flax and bran if I am feeling extra hungry, since I prep my oats overnight. Snack #1: This will usually be an apple with 2 teaspoons of nut butter as well as sometimes a “pre-workout” snack depending when I am going to the gym.Lunch: Lunch is going to be some form of veggies and chicken. Normally it’s baked chicken and green beans (sometimes broccoli)Snack #2: Greek  yogurt with a tsp of nut butter, 1/4 of a protein bar (like Quest, Luna protein or Kind bar), and some flax/bran mixture. Again, depending if I am going to workout before, this is another good “pre-workout” meal option.

Or sometimes, if I am around the mall (like yesterday) I will grab a Quest bar. I tried the new cookies and cream flavor and it was delish!

 “Post workout:” Protein Coffee! This is my current go to “post-workout.” I try to have a two to one ratio of carbs to protein and most of the sugars will come from something fast for good ole’ muscle recovery.

It’s 1 cup of coffee, 1-2 tablespoons of protein powder (lately I have been using Sun Warrior and I quite like it!), 1-2 tablespoons of cocoa powder, 1 sugar in the raw packet (or Stevia) and a 1/2 cup mixture of soy/ cow’s milk for different types of protein sources. Dinner: Same as lunch but sometimes I will add carbs soley because I work overnights and need those extra carbs to sustain myself during my shift!

Snack #3: Usually varies between #1 and #2, depending if I am working, I’ll have more protein if I am not working overnight. Or if I do a double workout (which is two to three times a week).Question: Have you tried the new Quest cookies n’ cream bar? What did ya think if you did?!

4 thoughts on “WIAW #86: Day In The Life of Body Builder In Training

Leave a Reply

