Coffee… Will You Be My Valentine’s? [Plus A HIIT Workout!]

I treated myself this Valentine’s Day and I enjoyed every second.

I was up for 35hours and I will do my best to never do that again. I never felt so disoriented in my life, you would have thought I was drunk and I have never gotten drunk! They say not sleeping is the same impairment, if not worse. But don’t go out drinking and doing stuff while your drunk okay? It is never okay! Anywho, off the seriousness, after my overnight shift I went to yoga. I know I needed it and I am glad I did go. I then went to have coffee at my favorite spot and got a s’mores latte (1/2 sugar-free flavors). It was good but nothing beats the honey and cinnamon one. I did most of my paper and then headed to Salem with my brother and ran some errands. And then this happened:I made us some Valentine’s Day pizza for lunch using Bob’s Red Mill crust thanks to my moms. I ate half that pizza, I was totally starving. Then I had some Chobani w/ nuts, seeds, almond butter and chia!Later that evening I noshed on this awesomeness; a vanilla/ caramel protein cake (sans PB but w/ cinnamonw/ an dark chocolate almond butter protein truffle stuffed inside. Seriously the best dessert I have made this year.Since I had a paper due, I made a bit of decaf protein mocha and had another yogurt. I was feeling “snacky” most of the days and it’s probably due to my not sleeping.I didn’t workout, just clearly wasn’t feeling it but I will get back into it tomorrow. Sometimes resting is just as important as the workout itself. Til next time weights. Howver, today I am going to share with you one of my personal favorite high intensity interval training workouts that I whipped up. What is HIIT? According to this from a Daily Burn article

HIIT, or high-intensity interval training, is a training technique in which you give all-out, one hundred percent effort through quick, intense bursts of exercise, followed by short, sometimes active, recovery periods. This type of training gets and keeps your heart rate up and burns more fat in less time. “A high-intensity workout increases the body’s need for oxygen during the effort and creates an oxygen shortage, causing your body to ask for more oxygen during recovery,”

This HIIT workout is a nice sweaty and quick 30 minutes that gets your heart rate going.

When I have more time, I do four rounds but three is good enough for a quick sweat sesh. This workout focuses on every part of the body; legs, glutes, abs, chest, tri’s shoulders; you name it. Enjoy!

Cardio Burst Set:

  • Squat Hold (20 secs)
  • Rapid Squat – 10
  • Lunges – 5 on each side
  • Jumping Jacks – 10
  • WoodChoppers (Standing Ab Twist) – 5 on each side w/ light weight

The Workout (3 Rounds):

  • Lateral Pulldown
  • Bicep Curls
  • -CARDIO BURST SET-
  • Bentover Row
  • 21’s
  • -CARDIO BURST SET-
  • Tricep Kickback
  • Hammer Curls
  • -CARDIO BURST SET-
  • Knee-In’s
  • Russian Twist (w/ weight)
  • -CARDIO BURST SET-

Alright, back to resting then gym. I hope everyone has a good weekend and had a good Valentine’s Day. Xo!

2 thoughts on “Coffee… Will You Be My Valentine’s? [Plus A HIIT Workout!]

Leave a Reply

