The Journey In Between: Day #15

On August 15th, I “restarted” my health journey. And guess what? Today is day 15! Kinda cool right? *Excusesmynerdness*

Where are we at now? Leg progress is on point!

One of the key things I was trying to focus on was building my quads. I have pretty good shoulders and abs, well that area is always a work in progress.But my lower body and back have been my main focus this year and I am happy that surgery didn’t take away too much of my progress. I am back to pre-surgery weight and body. Now it’s a matter of building again. I started a little bit of my body building program this week but I didn’t spin twice this week like I wanted to (only did one session).Picked up some of protein staples for my meals. I also eat/ have ground turkey, protein powder, brown rice, quinoa, oats, peanut butter chia seeds, and veggies just to name a few extras not shown. Lots o’ snacks too. And when I can splurge? Quest bars.Breakfasts are usually a protein bar and berries or oats. Depending on my workout for that day, I will eat more carbs if it’s back or leg day.

For other days I stick to mostly protein sources for breakfast. I find that this works for me on my more intense strength training workout days (which just happen to be back and legs) I make sure to eat extra fuel. If I know I am going to attend a spin session later, I will have a nice bowl of oats for breakfast and maybe some extra brown rice with my lunch.

Lunches and dinners pretty much consist of a protein and veggie, sometimes good carb sometimes none (again, depending on my training day). I am feeling good and learning to take every training day one at a time. If my body isn’t up for it, I won’t train.

I use to think it was the end of the world if I didn’t workout but I learned that in order to be healthy for what life throws at you, you must be able take care of yourself first. Hope everyone has a happy and healthy Labor Day weekend. Any plans? I’ll be hanging out in Rockport tomorrow with the manfriend!

2 thoughts on “The Journey In Between: Day #15

Leave a Reply

