Lower Body HIIT Workout

Today I have something fun for y’all.

Here is a sample workout I use for my client training for her crew team. A strong lower body, back and core are essential for one who rows.

I focus mainly on quads, lats, core and biceps exercises for her program, but it’s important to train every muscle group.I love training the lower body and enjoy building quads of steal. For today, I am sharing with you a lower body HIIT (high intensity interval training) workout that I like to do at home or in the gym.

Be sure to use a weight that is going to challenge you. I personally use 10lbs weights for this workout. This workout is also a part of my client’s program, so you get a sneak peek into one of her training days as well.

It should take about 30-40 minutes to complete. This workout calls for three rounds, but I like to do four to kick it up at notch. Remember to warm-up and cool down/ stretch after. Have fun and get sweaty!Lower Body HIIT Workout

Cardio Burst Warm-Up (Complete TWO sets to warm-up)

      • Jump Squats – 3 Sets x 10 Reps
      • Mountain Climbers – 3 Sets x 20 Reps

Weight Training/ Cardio Burst (Complete THREE-FOUR Sets)

        • Barbell Squat (or w/ dumbbells)- 3 Sets x 15 Reps
        • Single Leg Squats – 3 Sets x 10 Reps
        • Sumo Deadlift (w/ barbell or dumbbells) – 3 Sets x 10 Reps
        • Weighted Lunges – 3 Sets x 10 Reps (on each side)
        • Plie Squats – 3 Sets x 15 Reps
        • Standing Calf Raises (w/ machine or dumbbells) – 3 Sets x 15 Reps
        • Cardio Burst!
    • Repeat weight training and cardio burst TWO (or three) more times.

That’s right; you warm up with two cardio burst sets. Then you complete the weight training portion and do one round of the cardio burst after.

Then you repeat the weight training and cardio burst two more times for a total of three rounds. Like I mentioned, I sometimes like to do four rounds for an extra push.

By the end of the second round I am a sweaty mess but I know I have to keep pushing. No pain, no gain right? We must do things that are uncomfortable in order to see change.

Hope y’all enjoy this workout and if you have any questions, leave them in the comment box below!

Question: What’s you favorite muscle group to train?

Leave a Reply

