WIAW #111: IIFYM!

Good day y’all!

Whoa. I think it’s been a couple of weeks since I posted a WIAW post, but here you go. As always, thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting.

This week I get into IIFYM; “If It Fits Your Macros.” I’ll also be sharing some pictures from this weekend’s brunch at Denny’s and the Topsfield fair that I went to with the manfriend, my mom and brother. Enjoy!13493-wiawfallintogoodhabitsbuttonLately I have been eating things I haven’t eaten in months or even years. From countless pizza nights, apple cider doughnuts, fudge, specialty coffee’s, milk chocolate… I can go on.Since my surgery, I guess you could say I “let go” of my bodybuilding diet. Not to say that I was dieting but my diet doesn’t consist of solely chicken, egg whites and broccoli anymore.

Although it still consists of plenty of coffee and Questbars. I’ll have a little extra fat here and there, I’ll eat a doughnut or two. As long as it fits my macros (IIFYM), I am okay. Now is this how I want to eat?

Not entirely. I like keeping things green and clean, but I will splurge on occasion, usually once a week.But my stomach hasn’t been the happiest, so I know I need to get back to my clean ways. I like the concept of fitting “bad for you foods” into your macros.

But truthfully, I find that to be useful on cheat days; to be able to meet your macros nutrients while eating that pizza or fudge. The majority of people (from my experience) who follow this, lack in the micronutrient aspect.For example, a 70 calorie piece of fudge isn’t going to give you the same nutrients as a 70 calories of an apple. Both have carbs from sugar but the apple is going to give you nutrients and also has some fiber.

If you are following IIFYM and take a vitamin supplement, then that does help get any micronutrients you may be missing.Personally, I like to get my nutrients from the foods I eat. Everyone has their preference. This week I am getting back to a little bit more of my “egg whites and chicken” meal prep.

Although it was fun to try IIFYM on a daily bases, I think using it for dine outs or trips really helps at least for myself. I like to follow an 80/20 rule, where the 20% “bad” comes in the form of chocolate or Starbucks lattes!This past Sunday I instructed my first spin class and it was a blast! It was fun to give a group of people a fun workout. Since I was first a personal trainer, I was use to the one-on-one setting. Now, I am quite enjoying group instructing. I am off to relax for the rest of the day. My quads are burning from lots o’ squats, spinning and walking from this past weekend.

Question: Do you prefer group exercise classes or doing your own working?

3 thoughts on “WIAW #111: IIFYM!

  1. I enjoy a group spin class but I’m not as into the BodyPump classes. I think it’s because I still don’t know how to squat properly (they do a ton of squatting in the class I’ve attended at my gym.) I feel like people are looking at me and critiquing my posture. Eek.

    As for macros/calories – I have been trying to pay more attention to macros while pregnant but keep missing the mark (especially with protein like I mentioned a few weeks ago!) I think I’ll continue to watch macros after the baby is born. I find it a lot more beneficial than my obsessive calorie counting!

    • I totally hear ya! That’s why in my classes, I make sure to let people know that with hip/knee injuries I do squats differently but still as effective! I like macro counting too but I dont want to fit cake and fudge into it 24/7 lol 😉 Good luck and get some protein in!

Leave a Reply

