Lower Bod & Back Workout

If you’ve read my blog or follow me on Instagram,

You know my two favorite training days are legs and back. I don’t know why, just is! My least favorite is shoulders and that’s probably because I have a slight rotator’s cuff. Any who, since morning sickness began in pregnancy, my training suffered and I dropped down to maybe 1-2 times a week.

It was tough, after getting back into the swing of 4-5 times a week training. I got a lot of my energy back during the 11th week of pregnancy, but I used my energy wisely for when I taught classes.

I didn’t want to exhaust myself with personal workouts and let my classes suffer. The last workout I posted was a lower body and abs Tabata routine, which you can check out here!

Lately, I’ve been mixing workout days. I used to do a Shoulders & Chest, Bi’s & Tri’s, Lower Body and a Back day. Now I tend to mix shoulders, chest and tri’s and mix lower body with back and bi’s.Today’s workout, however, doesn’t have bi’s mixed, but feel free to throw in some bicep curls instead of the one handed dumbbell rows. I used 10lbs weights for all exercises except the flyes, I used 5lbs. Let’s get down to today’s workout, shall we?

***

Warm-Up: 10 minutes (moderate intensity) on your favorite cardio equipment ( I usually do treadmill)!

Exercises; Each 3-4 Sets of 10 Reps

  • Pull-down
  • Upright Row
  • Bent-Over Row
  • One Handed Dumbbell Row
  • Alternating Lateral to Medial Flyes
  • Sumo Squat
  • Weighted Plié “Squat”
  • Sumo Deadlift

Cool-Down: 10-15 minutes, steady pace on your favorite cardio equipment [or do a yoga segment!]

***

This workout should take you about 45-60mins to complete. Of course, if you do that yoga segment I linked to you, it will take about 65-75 minutes to complete. I like to save that for the days I have extra time.

If you’re short on time you can just do 2-3 sets of the exercises. Either way, you’ll get a nice lower bod and back workout that you’ll surely feel the next day or two. Be sure to hydrate replenish your body after!Question: Do you mix you separate your muscle groups or do more total body workouts?

Leave a Reply

