Protein Power {+Coaching Special}

Today’s topic?

All about protein. Since finding out I was pregnant, it has been a challenge getting in my protein macros. I remember when I use to be able to hit my protein macros with no problem. {21Weeks3Days}I did a post not too long ago which recaps some of my health and fitness during my pregnant. I do touch on protein there but this post will be dedicated to protein. Now onto the details:

Why protein? According to the people at Detour Bar:

  1. “It is a component of every cell in your body. In fact, hair and nails are mostly made of protein.
  2. Your body uses it to build and repair tissue.
  3. You need it to make enzymes, hormones, and other body chemicals.
  4. It is an important building block of bones, muscles, cartilage, skin, and blood.”

Benefits of a protein-rich diet?

  • Two of my main reasons for consuming protein is to speed recovery after exercise and helping to build that lean muscle. Speeding recovery after exercise.
  • Protein also helps to reduce muscle loss.
  • If weight loss is in your forecast, protein can help maintain a healthy weight and can also help in curbing hunger. Having a little bit of protein at every meal is key!

What about protein and pregnancy?

Protein is essential during pregnancy. According to BabyCenter.com: 

  • The amino acids that make up protein are the building blocks of your body’s cells – and of your baby’s body as well.” It is important to get enough protein during pregnancy, especially in second and third trimester. At these two stages, you baby is growing the fastest along with other aspects.
  • 70g of protein is the recommended during pregnancy for the average woman. As an active individual, I definitely need to make sure I get in more. When I was bodybuilding and spinning 5-6 times a week, I’d aim for a minimum 120g and “average” is 45g. Now I try to make sure I get in at least 85g-100g of protein per day.
  • The link above gives you some excellent sources of protein for pregnant woman. Remember every body is different so be sure to consult your doctor for your specific requirements.

My favorite protein sources?

  • String Cheese (about 5-7g per serving)
  • Eggs (6g per one large egg)
  • Organic Soymilk (9g per serving)
  • Kashi Go Lean Cereals (9g per serving)
  • Luna Protein Bars (12g per serving)
  • Greek Yogurt (12-15g per serving)
  • Quest Bars (about 20g per serving)
  • Protein Powder (I like Cellucor or Six Star Pro Nutrition, about 25g per serving)Vegan/Vegetarian? No problem. 
  • Here is a chart of some veggie protein sources besides your beans, peas, soy products, nuts, and seeds:
  • You can even try some Skoop B-Strong for a vegan protein powder. I also like Sunwarrior’s Warrior Blend.
  • Oh and if you are looking for health coaching and meal plans, I got you covered! I have a special going on so be sure to check out the Health and Wellness Coaching section. Everything is personalized to your needs.
  • And as a bonus, on top of the $49.99 “Get Ready for Summer” special, I am also taking 20% off to celebrate my halfway point in pregnancy. That means the coaching e-book plus your personalized meal and workout plan is only $39.99!

What are you waiting for? Email me at NutritiouslySweet@gmail.com with any questions!

Question: What are some of your favorite protein sources? Do you ever struggle with getting protein in?

2 thoughts on “Protein Power {+Coaching Special}

Leave a Reply

