Thinking Out Loud #19: Finding Balance

I have to be honest, past few days I have been feeling like crapola.

At least this little babe keeps me smiling. I’ve been nauseous, having massive migraines, very tired… I haven’t been sleeping the best either for obvious reasons.

Apparently there is such a thing as postpartum nauseau which can results from several things including dehydration, low iron, poor sleep and so forth.

Those three have just been horrible for me. I haven’t been taking my iron (and I’m slightly anemic) just because I simply forget and I remember as I am in bed and have no energy to take. Since my stomach has felt funny and the constant migraines, I tend to drink less water. I’m sure drinking water would help me much more but at this point, I am just so blah. I probably went back to work a week earlier then I should have, but I had all the energy and I was just ready for a routine change.

I hadn’t been working for almost 6 weeks and I wanted to get back into the grove. So now I am taking things down a notch and making some schedule changes. I am always a mom but I am a “full-time mom” 4-5 days a week. The 2 days that Pat is off, he takes care of her while I’ll work or study. Sometimes we split it if I am off that day. Most Sundays, my in-laws will watch Samantha while we both work.

Where is my off time? I need to really get into a groove of planning some time to myself to just veg on one of Pat’s days off. You definitely need the “you time” to keep yourself refreshed.

Even if you are not a mom, if you’re in school or working, you need to take a moment to yourself.

Me? I’m working on it. 😀

Sometimes just taking a few minutes to kick back, flip through Instagram and enjoy a cookie is all I need.Thanks Amanda for hosting Thinking out LOUD Thursdays. What’s on YOUR mind?

How do you take “me time?”

6 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #19: Finding Balance

  1. Im sorry you haven’t been feeling well. I think that sleep deprivation is probably a driving factor in a lot of this. I’m beginning to realize (yes – it took me ten months to figure out) that sleep (or lack thereof) has a bigger affect on us than I ever knew possible. I’m irritable, ravenous and all around not myself when I’m sleep deprived. Hoping you can get some more sleep in the coming months and that you’re able to get some more time to yourself. It’s hard because we are the main person for our babes when they are this young. I told Marty the time will come when Charlotte is over me and only wants her daddy 😉

Leave a Reply

